Things are finally falling into place

I know it’s been forever since I’ve blogged. I’m so sorry. I have been super busy. Just figured I would fill everyone in so they know I’m still around and doing well

Since I’ve last posted, here is what’s been goin on in my life:

  • I graduated from the University of Georgia with an ABJ in Magazines and a minor in Comparative Literature
  • I left the world of newspapers after 10 years to take on a media relations management position
  • I got a new vehicle
  • I took my boys to NYC for vacation
  • We took a week-long trip with the whole (extended) family to Myrtle Beach

So as you can see, I am blessed! I feel like all of my hard work and dedication is finally paying off. 

I still have some health issues, but nothing that is deterring me from accomplishing my goals. I’m learning to just live with it. My wrist has gotten worse in terms of appearance, but the pain is manageable, so I opted out of surgery. 

My most painful issue currently is my right rotator cuff. I probably will eventually end up having surgery on that, but I’m waiting. I try to carry things with my left arm and use ice packs and a heating pad when it flares.

I have lost about 30 pounds over the last 10 months and have about 20-25 to go to reach my goal weight. Last month I did no meat and I’m currently detoxing by only eating veggies and fruit (as much as possible). I hope to do this through the month of September. I’m also looking into a gym membership near the office that offers group classes. I find it motivates me and I’m hoping to meet new people in the process!

I’m loving my new job, which is half the commute and pays generously more than my previous career. After a meeting I had this morning, I’m really excited about the direction things are headed!

I’ve also found my energy levels have improved and I’m guessing this has to do with my dietary changes and weight loss. Either way, I have more desire to get out and do things, which is something I haven’t felt in about three years (since the divorce).

I guess that’s about it. I just wanted to share and I will try to be better about posting. Hope everyone is doing well and I’m posting a few photos for ya.  

Until next time friends, 

~allie 

I am an aunt again through the blessing of adoption! <3

I am an aunt again through the blessing of adoption! ❤

I won a prize pack from Cine Bistro in Atlanta to go see the movie "If I Stay"

I won a prize pack from Cine Bistro in Atlanta to go see the movie “If I Stay”

I took my friend Denise to see the movie. :)

I took my friend Denise to see the movie. 🙂

My company took me to see Aerosmith and Slash! Amazing show and had soo much fun!

My company took me to see Aerosmith and Slash! Amazing show and had soo much fun!

We hung out at a rooftop bar at the Glenn Hotel before the show :)

We hung out at a rooftop bar at the Glenn Hotel before the show 🙂

Me and my guys in a Taxi in NYC :) It was their first NY cab ride ever!

Me and my guys in a Taxi in NYC 🙂 It was their first NY cab ride ever!

We saw "Of Mice and Men" on Broadway and I fell in love with James Franco, Chris O'Dowd and Jim Parrack! (Swoon)

We saw “Of Mice and Men” on Broadway and I fell in love with James Franco, Chris O’Dowd and Jim Parrack! (Swoon)

Us bein goofy in NYC

Us bein goofy in NYC

Grand Central Station

Grand Central Station

Subway

Subway

The Staten Island Ferry

The Staten Island Ferry

Ran into this guy, lol. I've always wanted to meet The Naked Cowboy! ;)

Ran into this guy, lol. I’ve always wanted to meet The Naked Cowboy! 😉

1551778_10100187756207482_7476125348439777428_n

Just me :)

Just me 🙂

About Imkjac

I love my work. I also love the following things: God, my boys, my family, dogs, cats, writing, photography, reading (a bit of a lit geek actually), cooking, being outdoors, hiking, fishing, film, music, Spotify, beards, tattoos, board games, TV (also a TV geek), Netflix, pajamas, antiquing, interior decorating (DIY), blankets, polar bears, art, food. I dislike these things: elevators, heights, unclear water, bridges. Thanks for reading my blog and hoping it brings some comfort and joy to others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

