That which is essential, is invisible to the eyes

“L’essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.” ~  Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Image

The little Prince is by far one of my favorite literary works. And I have read a lot of literature being that my minor is Comparative Literature.

The quote above roughly translates to “One sees clearly only with the heart,” or an even closer translation reads “What is essential, is invisible to the eyes.”

I think what draws me to the book is its simplicity combined with its deepness.

That’s why when I read the article “46 Things I Learned Making Mr. Rogers and Me” I wasn’t surprised when I learned that Mr. Rogers had the quote framed and hanging in his office. I grew up watching Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood, finding comfort in his calming voice and consistency.

I was also a huge fan of Daniel Striped Tiger and the trolley car. Not so much King Friday, although I’m not sure why.

And was just downright scared of Lady Elaine Fairchilde, who reminded me of a mix between my grandmother (from my mom’s side) and a scary school teacher.

Image

Today is the 10th anniversary of Mr. Rogers death and the world has been a little less easy to bear without him.

There was just something comforting as a child to sit cross-legged on the green shaggy carpet of my “den” and eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich while watching a TV that looked eerily similar to this one:

Image

When things were hectic around me (yes, even as a child things could be stressful — in case you forgot), Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood seemed to make the rest of the world disappear around me. It felt as if he was looking straight through the camera and into my eyes and telling me that everything was going to be alright.

I was saddened by his death 10 years ago and today, I am saddened by its anniversary.

Fred McFeely Rogers had a knack for relating to people — and more importantly, children.

Image

I have this peculiar feeling that I will one day see Mr. Rogers again, only not this side of heaven.

Thank you Mr. Rogers, for spending your life recognizing those things which are essential.

Image

Image Source: Getty Images

Until next time friends,

~allie

About Imkjac

I love my work. I also love the following things: God, my boys, my family, dogs, cats, writing, photography, reading (a bit of a lit geek actually), cooking, being outdoors, hiking, fishing, film, music, Spotify, beards, tattoos, board games, TV (also a TV geek), Netflix, pajamas, antiquing, interior decorating (DIY), blankets, polar bears, art, food. I dislike these things: elevators, heights, unclear water, bridges. Thanks for reading my blog and hoping it brings some comfort and joy to others.
This entry was posted in Digital Literacy, Healing, Literature, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

