Chemo drugs and weekly shots: Life with Psoriatic Arthritis

My nodule got worse and I decided to jump my doc appointment ahead and try to get back on some of my medications to manage the pain. Look at that lil’ sucker. sigh. It makes it very difficult to write all day — sends shooting pains up my arm.

Image

I saw my rheumatologist Friday and based on my symptoms he decided it was FINALLY time to start my medications again since the Shingles. For those that didn’t know, I’ve been off all my meds for months (except my thyroid ones) while trying to battle Shingles. Although the rash finally disappeared, I am still dealing with nerve damage, which can be excruciatingly painful.

Doc diagnosed me with postherpetic neuralgia. If you aren’t familiar with it, you can read more about it HERE! (It’s basically nerve damage caused by Shingles). The issue with my condition is that the medications I need to take for my autoimmune arthritis basically cease my overactive immune system and it compromises me, which is probably why I caught Shingles in the first place. And why I had it for months … and why it kept coming back.

So, doc put me on Gabapentin (300mg, three times a day) to help battle the nerve pain and then back on the chemo meds (methotrexate) and the folic acid, Vitamin D (in extremely high doses) and my Enbrel shots once a week. Not to mention I’m still taking my thyroid meds and an anti-anxiety med. (I decided to go back on temporarily after some personal issues and school stresses).

I also got a cortisone shot for my shoulder. Being off my meds had caused severe inflammation and tissue damage in multiple joints, including my shoulder, ankle and wrist.

Now, just four days later, I’m already feeling better. I took my first shot yesterday. (DID NOT MISS THOSE PAINFUL INJECTIONS), but Enbrel works wonders for my every-day joint pain. Just a little concerned about walking to class every day in sub-zero temps with a compromised immune system. I’ll just take extra precautions and cross my fingers, I guess.

The main issue is to keep an eye on the nerve pain and hope the Shingles don’t return, which my doctor said could very well happen since it already has twice.

Guess that about covers it in terms of a medical update. School is back in session and I’m taking my final Italian class and a Comp Lit class called Literature in Film I’m pretty excited about. I’ve already read half the books though. Work is busy as always. Glad to be writing more articles and working on multiple series.

I’m trying to sketch more now that I can’t get out and shoot photography. I’m not as good at drawing, but I enjoy pushing myself. Here’s my latest sketch, a scene from the movie “500 Days of Summer.” Also – my favorite film right now.

Image

Now that I look at it, I guess I need to draw a line to separate his pants/shirt. Anyways …

Until next time friends. Thanks for reading.

~allie

About Imkjac

I love my work. I also love the following things: God, my boys, my family, dogs, cats, writing, photography, reading (a bit of a lit geek actually), cooking, being outdoors, hiking, fishing, film, music, Spotify, beards, tattoos, board games, TV (also a TV geek), Netflix, pajamas, antiquing, interior decorating (DIY), blankets, polar bears, art, food. I dislike these things: elevators, heights, unclear water, bridges. Thanks for reading my blog and hoping it brings some comfort and joy to others.
This entry was posted in Autoimmune Disorders and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chemo drugs and weekly shots: Life with Psoriatic Arthritis

  1. Grace Grace Brookshire says:

    Dear Allie, I want you to know that you are in our prayer!!. I miss getting together with you all at Christmas!! May God bless you and your boys. Love you much-Grace & Family

  2. Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old
    daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know thhis is completely off tpic
    but I had to tell someone!

Leave a Reply

