New Year, new life

So much has happened over the last few months and I just haven’t found the time to blog about it. But, I hope to make the time this new year. I am sad about some things from the past, but excited about the prospect of a new year. I know 2013 was supposed to be the year of the dragon, but my spirit tells me that 2014 is my year! 

Let me start by saying my engagement is off. No need to hash out details, but I am confident that it was God’s doing. I am content being single for now and focusing on my boys, my career and my future. Through it all I have learned that I need to be whole without someone else. And I need someone else who is completely whole and ok with themselves. Then maybe, one day, God will bring us together. But for now, I am still learning and growing and more than ever in tune with who I am — and ok with it.

 

My health is another issue (as always).

 

Although the rash is gone, I continue to have #Shingles pain.  It starts in my back and seems to come through my body and into my chest. It literally feels like a knife is stabbing me and it takes my breath away. My rhuemy took me off all my immunosuppressants due to the Shingles, therefore my Psoriatic Arthritis has been flaring for the last several months. (Not to mention my stress levels are ridiculous).  I made an appointment with my rheumatologist about 3 weeks ago, but he isn’t available until the end of January. 

My main complaint is joint pain and some psoriasis has poked its ugly head since going off the #Enbrel shots. Mostly on the back of my legs, but also on my face, hands and head. The dry winter weather isn’t really helping. Oh, and the scabs inside my nose have also gotten really bad (sorry if it’s TMI). I get bloody noses about three times a day and reoccurring scabs. sigh.

 I also get these awful knots in my wrists. Nodules if you will. They get swollen and big, then sometimes the swelling goes down and its just a tiny, defined knot (similar to a ganglion cyst, but way more painful). It’s this vicious cycle … but the knot never goes away. 

Looks like this: 

Image

Above you can see it swollen and below it looks like this when the swelling goes down … then it starts again …

Image

My right shoulder is also flaring to the point I can barely lift it some days. I will probably request another shot like I got about a year ago. It seemed to help for a while. 

I’ll also request more x-rays to see if the damage has gotten any worse since being off my meds. All I take currently is my Thyroid medication. 

Other than that, my symptoms are the usual. Joint pain, lethargy, dry skin, dry eyes … swelling, a lot of hand/finger pain. Oh — and that knot in my throat is back. Makes it difficult to swallow and been coughing a lot with a scratchy throat (mostly at night). 

In terms of work and school …

Work at the newspaper is great, as usual. I stay super busy. I’ve been writing less and helping out with some design since some employee shifts, but that should end after the new year and I’ll be back to my usual writing and photography

I have one class left before graduating. Italian 3. In order to get my loans I had to take at least 7 hours though, so once again I picked up another Comparative Literature class. I could probably double major considering all the comp lit classes I’ve taken. — but for now it’s still just my minor. Graduation is in May and it’s been a long, long, LONG road. But I am sooo excited to finally see the light and be headed towards finally putting this chapter behind me. 

And my kiddos keep me on my toes! ALWAYS!! My oldest, Trent has been in a little trouble, therefore he’s been grounded (from EVERYTHING) for about two months. I hate to say it, but as much as HE hates it, I have really enjoyed having him around the house more. With no iphone, internet or social activities — he’s actually spent a lot of time with me, which is a rare occasion. It’s been nice. 

And Trevor will officially be a teenager this weekend. I can’t believe how quickly they are growing up. It makes me sad, but so proud of them both. 

I would say the thing I’m lacking and missing most of all is a social life. I never get out. Seriously. It doesn’t happen. When an opportunity arises, which is a rare occasion, I usually have other responsibilities or I’m just too dang tired. I also don’t want to leave my boys at home. I feel like I work so much that if there’s ever a time I’m at home, I should spend it there. Maybe sometime soon that will change, but for now … my place is at home with those two boys. 

oh — and #Herbert. Our new addition 😉

Image

I guess that’s all for now. I hope to be a bit more consistent with my blogging in 2014. I hope this new year finds you all well … in mind, body and spirit. And I hope you find peace and joy abounds in this next year and forever! 

Until next time friends, 

~allie

Image

 

About Imkjac

I love my work. I also love the following things: God, my boys, my family, dogs, cats, writing, photography, reading (a bit of a lit geek actually), cooking, being outdoors, hiking, fishing, film, music, Spotify, beards, tattoos, board games, TV (also a TV geek), Netflix, pajamas, antiquing, interior decorating (DIY), blankets, polar bears, art, food. I dislike these things: elevators, heights, unclear water, bridges. Thanks for reading my blog and hoping it brings some comfort and joy to others.
This entry was posted in Autoimmune Disorders and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Year, new life

  1. amoran79 says:

    Allie, honey, I really hope that things will work out better for you in 2014. You deserve a break and I hope God will find that the new year will bring it to you. You are still in my prayers and will continue to be in them. My best to you!

    -Amy

  2. Awe. Thanks Amy!!!! Same to you girl!! Happy New Year!

  3. Ashley Koepke says:

    Congratulations on your upcoming graduation. I love reading your blog! I have MCTD, and so many of our symptoms are the same. The wrist nodules drive me insane as well. That crap hurts! I get them on my wrists and ankles. Love and luck to you and the boys for 2014. -ak-

  4. Ashley, thanks so much. I am super excited about graduation. It’s been such a long road. I think the biggest pain about the nodules is when they get so big they press on a nerve or something. UGH!! Hope you’re doing well and thanks for reading. God Bless and Love and Luck to you as well!!! 🙂
    ~allie

Leave a Reply

