Diagnosed with Psoriatic Arthritis (and I don’t feel so good myself)

“Anguish of mind has driven thousands to suicide; anguish of body, none. This proves that the health of the mind is of far more consequence to our happiness than the health of the body, although both are deserving of much more attention than either of them receive.” ~ Charles Caleb Colton

My last visit to the Rheumatologist consisted of more drugs, a new diagnosis and more blood work.
He took one more look at a chronic rash on the back of my legs that’s supposedly producing plaque and told me he is almost certain that my autoimmune arthritis is NOT RA, but rather psoriatic arthritis.

Psoriatic arthritis is treated exactly the same way as RA and is similar in its manifestation. You can read more about that at http://arthritis.about.com/od/arthqa/f/psoriaticrheum.htm

My doc upped my dosage of Methotrexate from 4 to 6 pills a week, gave me a cortisone injection in my right shoulder, gave a a strong dose of prednisone and put me on Tramadol for pain.
He also prescribed Enbrel. This basically means I will be administering my own shots every week along with my other meds. o-0
Not looking forward to this one bit! I will give myself my first shot tomorrow morning.

He kept my folic acid, Vitamin D and Levothyroxin (thyroid meds) dosage the same.

For now, I am battling extreme fatigue because the steroids have kept me up all night for a week and I believe the stronger dose of methotrexate is also making me tired.

Good news: I was PAIN FREE for an entire 4 days!!!!! I never realized exactly how much pain I’m in each day until I found myself running up the stairs with NO PAIN!!!! Unfortunately, it was short lived.
Now that the steroids are gone – my flares have returned.
My elbows, wrists, knees and shoulder are all aching and burning.
I was so stiff yesterday that I couldn’t bend my fingers and today I am restless all over my body.
I am also experiencing numbness and tingling all down my arms and legs.
It was AMAZING to have no pain for a few days. I had forgotten what it feels like, but it makes it all that much harder to get back into a routine that involves chronic pain.
It’s a lose-lose.
I’m excited about the prospect of Enbrel making a difference and hoping that it will eventually allow me to ween off the methotrexate.
Also, if you read my work blog, you’ll know the juicing experiment was a total failure, however, I’m incorporating more raw foods and micro-nutrient foods in my diet and hope to maintain the lifestyle while adding juices too. (So it’s not a total failure I guess)

On a sunny note:
Things are going well with school. I am doing well in my Italian class and my spring break technically starts NOW!
My boys are well and active and actually choose to hang out and talk with mom even though they’re teens (So I figure I’m doing something right).
And my boyfriend is super supportive, understanding and continually blesses me. Even in my super hectic schedule we find time to just be together and talk, sometimes cry (depending on my mood that day, lol) and laugh uncontrollably!
So what I lack in “health” I have gained in blessings.

Until next time friends,
~allie

About Imkjac

I love my work. I also love the following things: God, my boys, my family, dogs, cats, writing, photography, reading (a bit of a lit geek actually), cooking, being outdoors, hiking, fishing, film, music, Spotify, beards, tattoos, board games, TV (also a TV geek), Netflix, pajamas, antiquing, interior decorating (DIY), blankets, polar bears, art, food. I dislike these things: elevators, heights, unclear water, bridges. Thanks for reading my blog and hoping it brings some comfort and joy to others.
This entry was posted in Autoimmune Disorders, Juicing, Lupus, MCTD, Psoriatic Arthritis, RA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Diagnosed with Psoriatic Arthritis (and I don’t feel so good myself)

  1. william bartels says:

    I was in your same position tryed all kinds healthy ideas diet swimming every day before work, yoga nothing helped, stomach didn t like methatrexate. then I took enbrel all I can say is it was amazing results thought I could never feel normal again.

Leave a Reply

