Taking things one day at a time

 

“When I say it’s you I like, I’m talking about that part of you that knows that life is far more than anything you can ever see or hear or touch. That deep part of you that allows you to stand for those things without which humankind cannot survive. Love that conquers hate, peace that rises triumphant over war, and justice that proves more powerful than greed.” ― Fred Rogers

I am super busy. I work full time. I have Italian class (every day except Friday) at UGA and my two boys are more active than ever with sports, band, church and other activities. By the time their homework is done and mine is done, dinner is cooked, dishes cleaned, laundry started and other chores mind you — I am so tired I can barely move.

To top it off, my autoimmune issues drain me. I think people tend to forget my body is in a constant battle against itself.

I have been on methotrexate for about 5 weeks now. So far, the only side effects I have noticed is an occasional bout with nausea and mouth sores.

I go back to have my liver checked in about a week. Hopefully all will be ok. I’ve tried to drink more water. My main concern is the fact that I’m in so much pain with my hands and arms, I take about three ibuprofen each day. Not sure if there is an alternative that’s easier on the liver or not, but plan to ask my rheumy when I go.

I also invested in some compression gloves. They actually seem to be helping quite a bit. I have been trying to wear them at work (I’m a writer and the daily typing can get painful and leave my hands throbbing at night). I also slept in them for the first time last night and that went over pretty well.

Here’s a pic of those — I tried to get ones that were practical for daily use — that maybe didn’t look too much like a medical thing …. I think they’re pretty cute ….

Ma new accessory

Ma new accessory

Although I stay super busy, I am finding the time to stop and smell the roses, per se.

I am so blessed and in the midst of chaos, I am finding that peace-of-mind trumps EVERYTHING.

I am treasuring the little moments. Moments like the other day, when my teenager hung out in the bed with me, laughing until we almost cried while looking at photo-bombs online.

Moments like when my 12-year-old tells me he loves me and offers me a big bear hug.

Moments like when all my hard work pays off and I end up with an A on a test I worked really hard to study for.

Moments like when I’m having a rough day, and my sweet boyfriend realizes it and leaves chocolate and Diet Dr. Pepper (I have a mild addiction) at the front desk of my office unexpectedly.

I am blessed. And it’s because the people that God has placed around me.

This is how peace rules, friends …

“To look life in the face, always, to look life in the face, and to know it for what it is…at last, to love it for what it is, and then to put it away.” ― Virginia Woolf

So, as life throws it’s mountains at me. Pain, RA, doctors’ bills, homework, breaking news to cover, lethargy … I am taking it all one day at a time — and enjoying every minute of it!

Until next time friends,

Allie

 

About Imkjac

I love my work. I also love the following things: God, my boys, my family, dogs, cats, writing, photography, reading (a bit of a lit geek actually), cooking, being outdoors, hiking, fishing, film, music, Spotify, beards, tattoos, board games, TV (also a TV geek), Netflix, pajamas, antiquing, interior decorating (DIY), blankets, polar bears, art, food. I dislike these things: elevators, heights, unclear water, bridges. Thanks for reading my blog and hoping it brings some comfort and joy to others.
This entry was posted in Autoimmune Disorders, Lupus, MCTD, RA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking things one day at a time

  1. Alexa says:

    Hi Allie – I can totally relate to this post (and you!). I was recently diagnosed with MCTD in January and just started methotrexate last week….read about it me newly acquired blog! I just started writing because I needed an outlet. It’s hard for others to relate to what we go through if they haven’t experienced it first hand. Looking forward to reading more! Maybe we can even trade tips on dealing with this!!

Leave a Reply

