Postherpetic neuralgia ain’t fun ya’ll!

UGH! 

I have been in pain all day today. I guess the immune suppressants have caused the Postherpetic neuralgia to flare. (Basically nerve damage pain from the Shingles I had months ago) At one point the pain was so sharp and burning I thought I was going to have to leave work. I could barely walk to the ladies room. 

When I looked in the mirror, I can literally see purple bruising on my skin where the pain is. If I had to describe it, it feels as if someone is punching me in my ribs with a hot iron. 

Called my rheumatologist who of course said that I need to call my general practitioner, who by the way has made some recent staff changes I’m not so thrilled with. 

I didn’t call. 

I made some hot Green tea and will take an Aleve when I get home and pray this gets better and not worse. 

The pain can at times be absolutely excruciating. I just want to go home and curl up in my bed, which I will do … but instead of resting, I have Italian homework. Sigh. 

I’m still doing well with the no DDP (Diet Dr. Pepper) plan. Day 9. Still tired and combined with the pain, just makes me more tired. I’m surviving though. :)

Decided I would post a few more photos today. This time some more fun ones. 

Until next time friends, 

~allie

 

Image

Just me in the newsroom.

Image

 

Herbert may get crazy at times, but he sleeps with me and love when he wants to come snuggle near my face!! Although, T-bear (my 13-year-old) tells me it’s because he’s checking to see if I’m breathing because if I’m not, he’s going to eat my face off, lol. (boys). 

Image

 

In my experience, this is truth! Let him lead you in all your decisions. (He will make your path straight.) We can’t see the big picture, but He can!

Image

So. I buy these magnetic words in hopes to leave fun messages with the boys. I made the top sentence and later found the one beneath. (again … boys)

Image

 

Me and my T-bear <3

Image

 

Me and my Trent! <3

 

 

About Autoimmune allie

I love my work. I also love the following things: God, my boys, my family, dogs, writing, photography, reading (a bit of a lit geek actually), cooking, being outdoors, hiking, fishing, film, music, Spotify, beards, tattoos, board games, TV (also a TV geek), Netflix, pajamas, blankets, polar bears, art, food. I dislike these things: elevators, heights, unclear water, bridges. I also have multiple autoimmune diseases that cause all sorts of issues for me in my daily life. That's what this blog is about. Living the day-to-day with more than six (combined) autoimmune disorders. I have Hashimoto's Thyroiditis, Fibromyalgia, Celiac Disease, Palindromic rheumatism and Mixed Connective Tissue Disorder (MCTD is an overlap of three autoimmune diseases including lupus, scleroderma and polymyositis). I have also been diagnosed with autoimmune vasculitis and adult onset asthma. Due to my physical ailments I sometimes struggle with generalized anxiety, PTSD, depression and panic disorder. I guess that's about it. Thanks for reading my blog and hoping it brings some comfort and joy to others who suffer from autoimmune disorders!! God Bless!
This entry was posted in Autoimmune Disorders and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Postherpetic neuralgia ain’t fun ya’ll!

  1. amoran79 says:

    You are such an amazing woman and truly an inspiration to me. Your strength never ceases to amaze me and I know that it is God’s love that keeps you strong.

Leave a Reply

